Call UFSC Today! (202) 434-8970 |

The Urban Financial Services Coalition (UFSC), formerly known as the National Association of Urban Bankers (NAUB), is a non-profit organization of minority professionals in the financial services industry and related fields.  Affiliation with UFSC offers a unique opportunity to influence the shape of the banking and financial services industries.  To accomplish its goals, UFSC operates as a professional trade association (IRS 501c6).  UFSC promotes the personal and professional growth of its members, collectively articulates concerns and marshals resources to improve the economic development of under-served communities.


UFSC supports programs that offer practical benefits for minority financial services professionals, banks and financial institutions.  The underlying goals and objectives are:

  • Fostering the interest and expanding the numbers of minorities in the financial services industry
  • Increasing community service and financial education activities in low-income communities
  • Providing scholarship programs for minority youth pursuing careers in the financial services industry
  • Cultivating a premier job bank of experienced minority professionals in the industry

Historical Timeline



The National Association of Urban Bankers (NAUB) was established in New York City. Robert J. Samuels, inaugural president, along with Nathaniel Harris, Charles Stewart and other minority pioneers in banking, founded the national organization by bringing together five local unaffiliated minority banking chapters located in Boston, Chicago, Detroit, Little Rock and New York.



The organization expanded its membership base into Canada, growing the reach into an international location and coverage to international finance issues.



In May 2000, the organization expanded once again to encompass the entire financial services industry and changed its name to Urban Financial Services Coalition (UFSC) to reflect its industry-wide focus.


UFSC Today

UFSC Facts Today



Current Contacts

Past Presidents